Baz Luhrmann’s Gatsby

In preparation for the end of 2011, I can’t help but look forward. Thinking of all the great projects yet to be seen, or even filmed. One project I’ve been keeping my eye on is Australian born director, Baz Luhrmann’s take on the classic Fitzgerald novel, The Great Gatsby.

For those of you who we’re unaware of such goings on, here is the current (and most likely final, seeing as they are already filming) cast list:

Toby McGuire [Spider-Man and Brothers] as the story’s narrator, Nick Carraway. He is also Gatsby’s neighbor as well as Daisy’s second cousin, once removed.

Leonardo DiCaprio [from everything] as the young, mysterious millionaire, Jay Gatsby, who has an obsessive love for one Daisy.

The (lovely) Carey Mulligan [from An Education and Drive] as the attractive and effervescent, yet shallow, young Mrs. Daisy Buchanan. She is married to Tom and they have a 2-year-old daughter, Pammy.

Joel Edgerton [from King Arthur and Warrior] as Daisy’s arrogant, hypocritical millionaire husband, Tom Buchanan.

Elizabeth Debicki (who I have just now learned her name, although I have yet to have seen her face)  as Jordan Baker, Daisy’s longtime friend, a professional golfer, with a slightly shady reputation.

Isla Fisher [Wedding Crashers and Rango] as Myrtle Wilson the desperate and unstable wife of George. She is also Tom’s mistress.

Jason Clarke [Public Enemies and The Chicago Code] as George Wilson as Myrtle’s rundown and lifeless, mechanic husband.

Still from The Great Gatsby (1974) directed by Jack Clayton, with a screenplay by Francis Ford Coppola

I’m not one of those, stuck-in-the-past types, especially when, in all honesty the 1974 version of The Great Gatsby isn’t all that great. It’s all right, but not, by any means great. Although written by one of Hollywood’s most innovative and influential filmmakers, the 1974 version is, severely lacking. The simplest way to put it, is that the film was just too faithful. Trying too hard to please die-hard literary fanatics and missing out on some of the extravagance that can come from a truly great film.

Now, back to 2011, or 2012, whichever you choose. Starting with the cast, and then starting with Mr. DiCaprio. Leo is a hansom man, something we’ve always liked about him, he’s also very versatile, as far as his acting abilities, as well as his looks. He can fit into period films as well as, apparently any semi-important american male that has ever lived. Look we all know that Leo is a fine actor, still, are we not all getting a little sick of him? This man is everywhere! I feel like the poor guy hasn’t had a rest since Titanic! (Oh yeah poor multi-millionaire who runs around with models in his spare time and considers Kate Winslet to be one of his best friends. Poor bastard) It’s probably just me, myself and I, but I am getting just a little sick of his pretty-boy face.

Toby McGuire as Nick Carraway: Hm, good for him… Where has he been? Oh, and those of you who are not a fan of Toby’s, do yourselves and the rest of us a favor and rent the first Spider-Man and Brothers. If you’re still not a fan, or at least confident in his acting abilities, just wait until February, your kind of movies will be ripe for the picking.

For those of you who don’t know me, or ever read anything I have ever written, I absolutely adore Carey Mulligan. She is one of my favorite young actresses working in Hollywood today. She is lovely, talented, versatile and also completely adorable! I think she will make an absolutely fabulous Daisy, and she definitely deserves it. Although, if she’s not careful she could be come “overexposed.” Much like her very attractive Drive costar, Ryan Gosling was this year.

Isla Fisher is a very gifted comedian. She made me laugh in Wedding Crashers and again in Definitely Maybe, and again Confessions of a Shopaholic and then again with her fantastic voice work on the animated film, Rango. Now I wish I could have outright faith in her abilities as an actress, but I am just too worried that she will make Myrtle, silly. Let’s be honest, Myrtle Wilson isn’t the most serious of characters, especially when she’s shifting her hips walking around her husbands garage like she has a chance in hell of ever getting out of there. I think Isla’s style can work for the Myrtle, and even bring something new to the character, so I guess what I am saying, is that although I never pictured her for the role, I am starting to warm up to the idea…

As far as Joel EdgertonElizabeth Debicki and Jason Clarke, I don’t actually know of any of them well enough to form a solid opinion. I haven’t seen Warrior or The Chicago Code and I have absolutely no idea who Elizabeth Debicki even is. As far as first impressions go, Edgerton looks a bit too sympathetic to play the giant tool that is Tom Buchanan. Though Jason Clark seems to have the ability to be a naive, awkward mechanic, George Wilson, something is troubling me. I think I worry that there might be too much rage behind his final attack on Gastby, instead of the lifeless energy that the character is known for. Though you can’t judge a book by it’s cover, and I do not know nearly enough about any of these three actors to form any strong opinions either way.

Photographs taken on the ‘Gatsby’ set: 

(the first two are “Production Stills” and after that are just acquired from the internet)

Carey Mulligan and Leonardo DeCaprio as Daisy Buchanan and Jay Gatsby

The picture above looks to me like the moment after Gatsby gives Daisy the ring, and she gives it back, because she can’t wear it around her husband.

Toby McGuire, Leonardo DiCaprio, Carey Mulligan and Joel Edgerton as Nick Carraway, Jay Gatsby, Daisy Buchanan and Tom Buchanan

The moment captured above has to be either the first party of Gatsby’s that Daisy actually attends. The one in which she flaunts her relationship with Gatsby in front of Tom and in the ends up hating the whole evening.

Joel Edgerton as Tom Buchanan and Isla Fisher as Myrtle Wilson

The photos above are the best I could do for Tom and Myrtle. I have to say, Isla Fisher looks pretty good. She looks like the 1920’s version of Peggy Bundy. Which, actually, kind of works for the character. Sorry, no pictures of any of the other characters, as of yet.                                 (Oh and yes, Joel is flipping Toby McGuire the bird)

Well that’s all this week folks! Let me know your thoughts on The Great Gatsby remake, in the comment section bellow, and subscribe with your E-mail address on the right, if you’d like to get more Movie Madness with me, the Movie Junkie!

About the Movie Junky

I am a movie junkie, movies are my drug and I am addicted.
This entry was posted in Movie Discussions, Movie Previews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baz Luhrmann’s Gatsby

  1. Whether or not you’re getting tired of him, DiCaprio is the perfect Gatsby for our time, as far as I’m concerned. Check it out: http://connorferguson.com/2012/01/02/gatsby-in-2012/

  2. Shay Clavin says:

    Only a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great design and style .

Leave a Reply

